Impulse to become QantasLink

Qantas will absorb its former discount airfare rival Impulse Airlines into a new regional and holiday destination operation called QantasLink.

Also integrated into QantasLink will be four Qantas subsidiary airlines, Airlink, Eastern Australia Airlines, Southern Australia Airlines and Sunstate Airlines.

The Boeing 717 planes of the former Impulse will fly QantasLink services between Melbourne and Hobart and to the Gold Coast, Maroochydore and Hamilton Island. New QantasLink non-stop services will be run between Sydney and Townsville and Sydney and Hobart.

QantasLink passengers will be eligible for benefits of the Qantas loyalty programs.